Le Geek, C’est Chic

Debuting at #1 in hardcover nonfiction, Xanathar’s Guide to Everything—the first major expansion of the fifth edition of Dungeons and Dragons, which pubbed in 2014 with three core rulebooks—enjoyed stronger first-week sales than its predecessors. Outlets including Forbes and the Washington Post have noted DD’s resurgence in recent years, and the role-playing game has figured prominently in the ’80s pop culture lovefest and Netflix hit Stranger Things.

(See all of this week’s bestselling books.)

Stage to Page

Thanksgiving week was big for Broadway, with record-breaking box office takes for shows including the 2017 Tony Award winner for best musical, Dear Evan Hansen. A behind-the-scenes look at the show, Dear Evan Hansen: Through the Window, by Steven Levenson, the playwright, and Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, who wrote the music and lyrics, debuts at #19 in hardcover nonfiction. In 2016, the book’s publisher, Grand Central, released a similar making-of book, Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter, which has sold almost 534K print copies since its release.

New Notable

Tribe of Mentors

Timothy Ferriss

#3 Hardcover Nonfiction

The author of The 4-Hour Workweek and Tools of Titans imparts life lessons gleaned from a diverse roster of interviewees, among them Arianna Huffington, Patton Oswalt, and Dita von Teese.

Collusion

Luke Harding

#6 Trade Paperback

A reporter and former Moscow bureau chief for the Guardian writes that Russia appears to have begun cultivating Donald Trump in 1987, drawing on original reporting as well as Christopher Steele’s dossier.

Ramses the Damned

Anne Rice and Christopher Rice

#7 Trade Paperback

In what our review called “an entertaining soap opera,” the mother-and-son team, writing together for the first time, revisit the subject of Rice’s The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned 28 years after its publication.[strong]

The Magic Misfits

Neil Patrick Harris, illus. by Lissy Marlin

#13 Children’s Frontlist Fiction

The Emmy- and Tony-winning actor’s debut middle grade novel, about a young street magician, is a “fast-paced and clever series opener” that’s “a good choice for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch,” according to our review.

Top 10 Overall

Rank Title Author Imprint Units 1 The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #12) Jeff Kinney Amulet 139,423 2 5-Minute Pete the Cat Stories James Dean HarperFestival 104,902 3 5-Minute Disney Snuggle Stories (special ed.) – Disney Press 96,713 4 5-Minute Disney Princess Stories (special ed.) – Disney Press 96,583 5 Five-Minute Peppa Stories Neville Astley Scholastic 96,331 6 5-Minute Disney*Pixar Stories (special ed.) – Disney Press 88,317 7 5-Minute Avengers Stories (special ed.) – Disney Press 80,932 8 Wonder R.J. Palacio Knopf 79,514 9 5-Minute Little Critter Stories Mercer Mayer HarperFestival 77,247 10 Curious George’s 5-Minute Stories H.A. and Margret Rey HMH 73,106

All unit sales per Nielsen BookScan except where noted.

LEAVE A REPLY