Here we round up new and forthcoming children’s titles, including an archeologically inspired fantasy, a picture book about caring for animals, a magical middle grade novel, and a new twist on a familiar fable.

The City of Sand by Tianxia Bachang, trans. from the Chinese by Jeremy Tiang. Delacorte, $17.99; ISBN 978-0-553-52410-9. This YA fantasy adventure novel in translation follows 17-year-old Tianyi, kicked out of his home for eschewing college to dabble in supernatural nonsense, who is hired by a legendary archaeologist and an American millionaire for a big job.

The Boy and the Whale by Mordicai Gerstein. Roaring Brook, $17.99; ISBN 978-1-62672-505-8. In Gerstein’s latest picture book, a boy discovers an injured creature still alive, and gathers the courage to save it.

The Magic Misfits by Neil Patrick Harris, illus. by Lissy Marlin. Little, Brown, $16.99; ISBN 978-0-316-39182-5. A handful of magic lessons are interspersed throughout this middle grade novel, which launches a fast-paced series in the vein of Pseudonymous Bosch and Lemony Snicket.

Goldenlocks and the Three Pirates by April Jones Prince, illus. by Steven Salerno. Farrar, Straus and Giroux, $16.99; ISBN 978-0-374-30074-6. Prince (What Do Wheels Do All Day?) cleverly recasts the three bears as swashbuckling pirates in this alliterative picture book twist on Goldilocks.

My Lazy Cat by Christine Roussey. Abrams, $16.95; ISBN 978-1-4197-2602-6. A girl realizes that her “slacker” of a cat might be on to something, in a picture book aimed at overscheduled children and the adults in charge of those schedules.

Once There Was a Story: Tales from Around the World, Perfect for Sharing by Jane Yolen, illus. by Jane Dyer. SS/Wiseman, $19.99; ISBN 978-1-4169-7172-6. Writing in a warm, welcoming voice peppered with humor, Yolen retells more than 30 myths, fairy tales, and fables.

For more children’s and YA titles on sale throughout the month of November, check out PW’s full On-Sale Calendar.

LEAVE A REPLY