This week, the force is with Jarrett J. Krosoczka; special guests join Kate Schatz at her book release party; young professionals celebrate Potterpalooza; J.H. Diehl holds pool parties; a bookstore offers a “book tasting” event; and Tracy Banghart and Kaitlyn Sage Patterson team up.

At a Library Far, Far Away

In celebration of The Principal Strikes Back (Star Wars: Jedi Academy #6), Jarrett J. Krosoczka recently visited libraries and bookstores in New England. Fans of Jedi Academy and Star Wars came dressed in costume and with favorite titles in the series for Krosoczka to sign. Here, at the South Portland Public Library in Maine, the author is joined by library staffers and employees at the indie local, Print: A Bookstore. At the library, Krosoczka held a cartooning workshop for attendees.

Cover Girls

Author Kate Schatz celebrated the release of her book Rad Girls Can (Ten Speed) at Bear Pond Books in Montpelier, Vt., on August 7. Joining Schatz (far r.) were members of Muslim Girls Making Change, a group of young poets from Burlington, Vt. The poets are featured in Rad Girls Can and also appear on the cover.

Young Muggles Unite!

Members of the Young to Publishing Group (which has chapters nationwide) held a Potterpalooza party in celebration of Harry Potter’s birthday on July 31, at the Simon Schuster headquarters in New York City. The event was held in support of the Harry Potter Alliance, an organization devoted to inspiring civic engagement and activism among Harry Potter fans. Potter-themed activities included wand-making, trivia, a costume contest, and fortune-telling.

Reading Poolside

In author J.H. Diehl’s middle grade debut, Tiny Infinities (Chronicle), 12-year-old Alice finds peace and solace through swimming. To honor her character, Diehl held book events at Montgomery County Swim League pools in Maryland throughout the month of July. The Montgomery County league inspired the league that was featured in Tiny Infinities.

Dibs!

Blue Baboon Books in Wichita, Kans., recently held a “book-tasting” event for kids and teachers. The bookstore obtained more than 100 children’s and YA ARCs at Children’s Institute this year and “we wanted to get them in front of our customers to find out what they think and to get first dibs on pre-orders,” said store owner Sara Ornelas. Here, two attendees catalogue the books they are most eager to read.

Dynamic Duo

Young adult authors Kaitlyn Sage Patterson (l.), author of The Diminished (Harlequin Teen) and Tracy Banghart, author of Grace and Fury (Little, Brown), appeared in conversation at Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh, N.C., on August 4. The two celebrated the release of Patterson’s book and discussed writing, reading, and inspiration.